Healthy Living Summit Part II

Our keynote speaker at Healthy Living Summit was Dawn Jackson Blatner.   To be honest, I almost skipped out on this session, but I’m so glad that I didn’t.  I hadn’t heard of Dawn before, but now I’m really interested in learning more on her ideas.  She wrote a book on the flexitarian diet, which is a diet that is pro-plant with an emphasis on eating less meat.

A lot of people at HLS were surprised to learn that they are flexitarians!  Dawn gave excellent recommendations on switching to this way of eating, such as starting small and narrowing down to only a few meaty meals each week.  She also suggested foods to eat if you’re missing the meat, including mushrooms and parmesan.

Next up, Caitlin introduced a few bloggers for a panel on negativity.

Included in the panel were some of the funniest slides of Julie’s dog, Sadie.

I just can’t help but laugh…

or smile…

When I see these 🙂

These girls really did a great job discussing a rough topic.  I’d like to think we’re all friends and that people are never unnecessarily mean, but unfortunately this just isn’t true and they gave some great options of what to do if you do have a problem.

Next up was lunch!  At a food bloggers conference, you’d expect good food, right?  Well, the food was better than I could have imagined!

The quinoa salad was one of the best things to ever touch my lips and I’m hoping to either find the recipe or recreate it myself.  It had quinoa, chickpeas, and red onions in it, but I’m not sure of the dressing.  I also filled my plate with salad and a tofu sandwich with amazing Great Harvest bread.

And I had the pleasure to eat at a table with Tina from Carrots n Cake!

She was so sweet and easy to talk to!  I’m currently three-quarters of the way through her book, so that was a bit surreal!

Later on, I attended another panel by two of my favorite bloggers, Beth from Beth’s Journey and Tina from Faith Fitness Fun.

They discussed the pros and cons of using numbers to track your progress.  Each of these girls discussed the various numbers that they would track and what worked or didn’t work for them.  They emphasized that everyone is different and so are the ways to lose or maintain weight.

The final panel of the day was done by Katy Widrick on monetizing your blog.  It was packed with so much information and she is a one of the best speakers I’ve ever heard.

Once the panels were over, a few people stuck around talking.  Now, I have a few favorite bloggers and I was hoping that I’d have the opportunity to meet (or just see!) them at HLS.

Meeting Julie was awesome – all of the bloggers were just like their blogs, but better (if that’s possible!)  I think initially I froze up meeting all of them, and they ended up asking me questions instead of the other way around!

Next up, Dinner and other fun!


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Healthy Living Summit Part II

  1. Katie says:

    Hey Dani! So great to meet you… even if it wasn’t until the train ride home 🙂 Hope we can catch up at a DC event soon!

  2. It was so great meeting you, too! See ya soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

